What is CBD oil?
Cannabidiol oil, more commonly known as CBD oil, is a product derived from hemp or marijuana extracts. While the majority of CBD oil in Kansas is derived from hemp extracts, there are also existing oils that were derived from marijuana. Under the 2018 Farm Bill, hemp (defined as cannabis plants with a THC content of less than 0.3 percent) was removed from Schedule I controlled substances. Before this bill, hemp was treated the same as marijuana and LSD.
What is the difference between hemp and marijuana?
Hemp and marijuana are broad categories under the plant genus cannabis. Marijuana is defined as plants with a THC content of 0.3 percent or higher, otherwise, it is considered as hemp. Cannabis-derived products with THC content are being strictly regulated in the US as this chemical compound can make consumers high. The higher the amount of THC consumed, the more intense its mind-altering effect will be.
However, products such as CBD oil from hemp does not cause a ‘high’ sensation as it contains little to no amount of THC. Consuming products with CBD can help with anxiety, depression, seizures, and even pain and inflammation caused by chemotherapy.
Is CBD legal in the state of Kansas?
It depends. Kansas is one of the states in the US with strict cannabis regulations. The SB 263 (Alternative Crop Research Act) is the state’s program that lets universities and research institutions to study the viability of industrial hemp. Shortly after the said law was signed, SB 282 took effect, which allowed access to CBD products in Kansas as long as the product contains 0 percent THC. This is stricter than CBD regulations in other states such as Kentucky and Arizona where CBD products with a THC content of less than 0.3 are allowed.
So, is it legal? Yes, CBD oil in Kansas is legal IF it has no THC content. CBD products can be bought from CBD dispensaries and CBD stores in Kansas. As it has no THC content, medical marijuana card, or prescription is not needed to purchase said products. Also, in Kansas, CBD products are considered as herbal supplements and can be bought in the form of oil, gel, pills, creams or lotions, and powders.
It is also important to note that when caught with possession of marijuana products (cannabis-derived products with 0.3 percent THC or higher), the violator can be charged with a class A misdemeanor.
How old do you have to be to buy CBD?
Do you have to be 18 to buy CBD in Kansas?
CBD oil can be bought from several stores around the state such as CBD dispensaries and CBD stores in Kansas. Generally, these establishments are open to adults of age 21 years old or older. Some stores allow at least 18 years old.
CBD Licensing in Kansas
For research distributors, processors, and growers who are interested to join the state’s Industrial Hemp Pilot Program, they may send their application to the Kansas Department of Agriculture (KDA). Applicants will need to pay for a $20 application fee and a comprehensive background check will be done before the license is approved.
Where to buy CBD oil in Kansas?
Although the state is strict with cannabis-derived products, there are a lot of CBD stores in Kansas where you can buy CBD products with 0 percent THC.
You can check our list of CBD stores in Kansas below.