Because of the 2018 Farm Bill that allowed research institutions to further study hemp and CBD, more benefits of CBD are coming into light. And because of that, lawmakers in the state of New Mexico are being pushed to update existing cannabis regulations, especially with regards to hemp and hemp-derived products such as CBD oil.
Is Hemp CBD legal in New Mexico?
Yes, CBD is legal as long as it is hemp-derived and has less than 0.3 THC.
Under the Lynn and Erin Compassionate Use Act, the use of medical marijuana was made legal for patients registered under the state’s medical-marijuana program. To become eligible for the program, the patient must obtain a written recommendation from a licensed physician then apply through the New Mexico Department of Health’s website, under the Medical Cannabis Program (MCP).
Following the 2014 and 2018 Farm Bill, the state of New Mexico established two hemp programs regulated by two different government entities. The 2017 Senate Bill 6 assigned the New Mexico Department of Agriculture (NMDA) to oversee the cultivation and production of hemp. While in 2019, HB 581 was passed and tasked the New Mexico Environment Department to regulate hemp finished products including CBD edibles to ensure that the THC content will be less than 0.3 percent.
Through these laws, hemp-derived CBD oil in New Mexico can now be purchased even without a prescription, or a medical marijuana card. This is because, under this law, hemp-derived products with a THC content less than 0.3 percent are legal to buy and sell.
How much is a medical card in New Mexico?
Patients who are qualified for the Medical Cannabis Program (MCP) can apply through the Department of Health’s website. Once the application is approved, the patient (and his guardian, if there is any) can purchase medical marijuana and allowed to grow his cannabis at home. This program allows patients to possess only 230 units of cannabis every 90 days.
Application for the patient registry is free of charge, however, if the patient opts to grow cannabis at home, there is a license application of $30.
Patients who are not qualified for the program can always ask their physicians for alternative options such as CBD oil derived from hemp.
How long does it take to get a medical card in New Mexico?
Usually, it takes about 30 days for the program to release the result of an application. Once the application for the registry has been approved, it will take an additional 5 days for the registration cards to be available.
The emerging popularity of CBD in New Mexico stems from its many health benefits. Although there are only a few FDA-approved CBD-infused medications as of today, more patients are trying CBD from hemp as an alternative to medical marijuana.
CBD and THC are both chemical compounds that can be found in cannabis plants. While both have therapeutic properties, THC is psychoactive and causes mind-altering effects. THC is the compound responsible for the “high” sensation marijuana users crave. On the other hand, CBD is non-psychoactive and is a safer alternative to marijuana if the patient’s condition does not need high THC content medication.
CBD is known to provide relief in many conditions such as anxiety, depression, HIV/AIDS, epilepsy and seizures, and glaucoma. Since CBD is still considered as an herbal supplement, doctors cannot prescribe CBD but can recommend it to their patients.
Where to buy CBD in New Mexico?
CBD stores in New Mexico are scattered across the state. Hemp-derived CBD products can be bought over the counter or through online stores. To check which CBD store in New Mexico is near you, refer to the list below.