Is CBD oil legal in New Hampshire?
Yes, like in most states in the US, CBD oil in New Hampshire is legal as long as the product was sourced from hemp and not marijuana and has a THC content of less than 0.3 percent. This is in-line with the 2018 Farm Bill, the law that allows cultivating, processing, selling, and buying of hemp and hemp-derived products. For patients in need of cannabis products with high THC content, it is required to enroll in the state’s medical-marijuana program; there are only a few conditions the program considers eligible. Once the application is approved, the patient can purchase CBD and other cannabis-derived products from a licensed physician. New Hampshire, unlike other states, only allows medical marijuana to be sold through licensed physicians and not through medical dispensaries. Also, only patients age 18 and up are allowed to use marijuana-derived CBD. Minors can opt for the low-THC CBD products instead.
New Hampshire CBD laws
Following the 2018 Farm Bill, HB 459 was passed and is aiming to establish the cultivation of hemp in the state. A committee was established to further study how the hemp program will be implemented properly but as of December 2019, the committee hasn’t submitted a report yet. Thus, New Hampshire is still not fully open to the production of Hemp.
CBD derived from hemp is also prohibited to be added to food, beverages, and to be advertised as a dietary supplement, as stated in a guideline released by the New Hampshire Liquor Commission. Additionally, under HB 1581, all CBD products manufactured in the state should follow testing and labeling requirements and should also be registered with the New Hampshire Department of Agriculture, Markets, and Food (NHDAMF).
How old do you have to be to buy CBD oil in New Hampshire?
It depends on the CBD product.
If the product is hemp-derived and has a THC content of less than 0.3 percent, it is available for everyone to purchase. Hemp-derived products are commonly available in street-side stores such as CBD stores, grocery stores, and even gas stations.
For marijuana-derived, high THC products, it is required to enroll in the state’s medical-marijuana program first. Patients age 18 years old and above are allowed to legally access CBD products derived from marijuana. Patients are only allowed to possess 2 oz of marijuana-derived CBD, otherwise, it may result in a misdemeanor and fines.
Hemp-derived CBD vs Marijuana-derived CBD
There has been a lot of confusion surrounding hemp and marijuana because, in most literature, both are referred to as cannabis. Cannabis plants can be categorized into hemp and marijuana. Hemp plants are those that have THC content less than 0.3, otherwise, they are considered as marijuana.
Why does THC content matter?
THC is the psychoactive compound found in cannabis plants; it is the reason why marijuana users get high after consuming the substance. Although both CBD and THC are found in cannabis, hemp plants do not produce that much THC compared to marijuana plants. That is the reason why marijuana-derived CBD oil is often strictly regulated and hemp-derived CBD oil is accessible for everyone.
Where can you buy CBD oil in New Hampshire?
CBD in New Hampshire is available on many different channels. The availability will depend on which plant was the CBD oil sourced from. Hemp-derived CBD oil in New Hampshire can be purchased almost everywhere. Hemp-derived CBD products are available in CBD stores, wellness stores, grocery stores, vape stores, and even gas stations.
CBD derived from marijuana is only available through licensed physicians. If the patient needs CBD that has higher THC content than what is allowed to be sold in retail stores, the patient needs to contact his physician directly.
To view the list of CBD stores in New Hampshire, refer to the list below.