The federal government has legalized hemp, and products derived from hemp, back in 2018. The 2018 Farm Bill allows growers and farmers to grow hemp; manufacturers and retailers to process and sell products derived from hemp, and consumers to buy hemp-derived products such as CBD oil. This led to the immense popularity of CBD oil in West Virginia and other parts of the US. CBD has become a part of consumers’ daily routine, adding it to their meal, taking it as a supplement, or even using it as lotions or creams.
Hemp licensing in West Virginia
Under West Virginia’s Industrial Hemp Act, the state legalized the cultivation of hemp and removed the plant from the list of controlled substances. Furthermore, while easing restrictions on hemp, the state will continue to regulate marijuana and substances derived from it. Although growing of hemp is allowed, growers and farmers should apply for a license to be approved by the West Virginia Department of Agriculture and the West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Bureau for Public Health, Office of Medical Cannabis. Only after the license has been issued should they start cultivating hemp.
Is it legal to sell CBD Oil in West Virginia?
Yes, CBD oil can be sold in West Virginia. It is a popular commodity in the state, and it can be found in health stores, pharmacies, CBD stores, and even supermarkets. The state’s previous hemp regulations under the Industrial Hemp Development Act and the current hemp production plan approved by the USDA are under the supervision and responsibility of the West Virginia Department of Agriculture (WDVA). Buying and selling of products derived from hemp are legal as long as it contains less than 0.3 percent THC, the state’s regulations are in-line with the 2018 Farm Bill.
Marijuana-derived CBD oil and other marijuana variants are only legally accessible to patients registered in the state’s medical-marijuana program being overseen by the West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Bureau for Public Health, Office of Medical Cannabis. Only applications from patients with qualifying conditions will be approved.
Is hemp legal in West Virginia?
Yes, under the 2018 Farm Bill, cultivating, processing, selling, and buying of hemp and hemp-derived products are legal as long as it contains less than 0.3 percent THC.
How do you get a medical card in West Virginia?
Applications for the West Virginia’s medical cannabis patient card should be submitted online to the West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources, Bureau for Public Health, Office of Medical Cannabis’s official website. Before applying, the patient should obtain a written recommendation from his/her physician.
Patients with medical cannabis patient cards are also allowed to obtain medical cannabis from another state if the needed medication is not available in West Virginia.
How old do you have to be to buy CBD in WV?
Hemp and products derived from hemp, such as CBD oils, with less than 0.3 percent THC are accessible to consumers age 18 and up. However, medical marijuana is only for patients with a medical marijuana card.
Where to buy CBD oil in West Virginia?
Different variants of CBD oil are available in stores across the state. Supermarkets, health stores, pharmacies, and vape stores usually have CBD in stock. You can even purchase it online and have it delivered to you.
To find a CBD store in West Virginia near you, you may refer to the list below.