What is CBD?
What is CBD and why should you try CBD in Arkansas? Cannabis plants are known to have more than 400 different chemical compounds, around 60 of these compounds are labeled cannabinoids. Cannabidiol, most known as CBD, is one of these cannabinoids. The emerging trend on the use of CBD is due to its anti-inflammatory, pain relief, and anti-anxiety properties. Since most CBD products contain less than 0.3 percent THC, taking in or using products with CBD are safe and will not cause intoxication.
What is THC?
THC or tetrahydrocannabinol is the main psychoactive compound found in marijuana that causes the sensation of “high” when consumed, the more THC you consume, the more you get “high”. Marijuana, in the United States, is defined as any Cannabis sativa plant that contains more than 0.3 percent THC.
Buying CBD oil in Arkansas is allowed as long as it is hemp-derived and contains less than 0.3 percent THC. While hemp is also referred to as Cannabis, there are differences between hemp and marijuana.
Hemp vs Marijuana
Why do CBD products contain less THC? That is because the majority of CBD products in Arkansas, and the entire United States, are derived from hemp extracts. While both plants belong to the same plant genus, Cannabis, hemp extracts do not contain a high percentage of THC; it is usually less than 0.3 percent. Hemp can only be classified as a species of Cannabis Sativa while marijuana can either be Cannabis Indica or Cannabis Sativa.
A plant that contains even just 0.4 percent THC is considered marijuana, even though the effect of 0.4 percent THC compared to the effect of 0.3 percent THC is not that noticeable.
Is CBD oil legal in Arkansas?
Can I buy CBD in Arkansas? Yes, it is allowed to buy and sell CBD products in Arkansas.
In 2017, the Arkansas Industrial Hemp Act or Act 981 took effect making it legal to buy CBD oil in Arkansas if the product contains less than 0.3 percent THC. If it contains a higher THC level, the product will be considered as medicinal marijuana, and buying medicinal marijuana in Arkansas requires you to present a medical marijuana card. Only patients that are qualified are given the card and can use and purchase medicinal marijuana.
In 2019, House Bill 1518 was put into effect. This bill states that CBD products in AR, of any kind, is not regulated by the government. Furthermore, the FDA still discourages the addition of hemp-derived CBD to food and beverages.
Do You Have to Be 21 to Buy CBD in Arkansas?
When buying CBD in AR, consumers are not required to present an ID, a medical marijuana card, or a prescription, if the product is hemp-derived or contains less than 0.3 THC.
However, if you are buying CBD oil made from marijuana or products that contain more than 0.3 percent THC, the state of Arkansas is implementing some restrictions.
- You need to be over 21 years old
- You need to present a medical ID card
- The product you are going to buy should contain less than 0.3 percent THC or does not exceed the limit of 10 mg of THC
To apply for a medical ID card, also called a marijuana card or cannabis card, you need to be over 21 and suffering from one of the illnesses on their list.
Where Can I Buy CBD in Arkansas?
Because of its many health benefits, more consumers are trying CBD to help cope with their conditions. CBD stores in Arkansas are all around the state, you can even buy from CBD stores in AR online. To help you find a CBD store near you, we’ve compiled a list below.